A privilege as well as a responsibility

Grady Booch states, “… being a software developer is both a privilege as well as a responsibility. It’s a privilege, because what we do changes the world; it’s a responsibility because what we do…changes the world.”

In my pursuit to learn software technology I have toiled in early 80s, much to the annoyance of my wife and against the advice of my mentor who thought that there was no big future for computers and that the EDP people would play second-fiddle for operational managers. For me, it was learning for the sake of learning, for the fun without any specific objective, with meagre resources and no teachers. For months I wrote programs on paper without ever getting an opportunity to even compile them for want of a machine. Most of the code I then wrote did not go beyond self-review. Later I got better opportunities as some people recognised my acquired skills. When I left the Navy in 1996, the software industry had progressed beyond expectation. My preparedness helped me find a job in the industry. The industry has given me ample opportunities to learn new things regularly.

The industry has also helped me to know several excellent people.

More than meeting clients and vendors, I have met more than a thousand brilliant professional from different software companies as my students because I started teaching topics related with analysis and design of software systems in addition to working on software development. This made me update myself continuously on the advances in the field, and apply them in my work. Teaching has also created opportunities to reflect on teaching methodologies, pedagogy and andragogy.

When I understand a new concept or a see a nice explanation to known topic, I grab it to share with my students. It is this satisfaction of sharing and learning together that attracts me to classrooms. My corporate training has dwindled over the last few years, which I compensate with more teaching in institutes. My students range from elementary school students to post graduate students in reputed institutes.

Teaching is an excuse to keep learning and continue sharing what I learn. Writing these blog posts is another opportunity to share my thoughts.

I would restate Grady Booch’s statement for all teachers:

Being a teacher is both a privilege as well as a responsibility. It’s a privilege, because what we do changes the world; it’s a responsibility because what we do…changes the world.

About pgbhat

A retired Naval Officer and an educationist. Has experience with software industry. A guest faculty at different institutes and a corporate trainer with software development companies.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

