Analytics without actions?

Majority of my 225 blog posts were comments on Indian Electoral Management System. Innocent curiosity started in 2009 led to more serious analysis, unearthing grave issues with the system and the callous attitude of authorities.

My analytics have not resulted in corrective actions by the department. They also did not respond to my repeated offers of help. Several friends and well wishers ask me what is the worth of analytics if the findings did not lead to actions.

Though the ECI and CEOs have not accepted, there have been some improvement in the system based on my findings and continuous nagging the authorities.  Gains would have been greater if they would work with the right spirit rather than out of perceived compulsions.

Despite the lukewarm response from the authorities for the specific studies, I have gained from the work. It has given a purpose for my retired days, kept me occupied and healthy. It has kept me learning new technologies and created opportunities to meet hundreds of wonderful people.

I did not post any blog for the past 3 months. The lethargy has no explanation. My post named “Writing makes an exact man” drew more than 2,000 views. Writing so, I should not stop writing even for reflecting on some fleeting thoughts.

About pgbhat

A retired Naval Officer and an educationist. Has experience with software industry. A guest faculty at different institutes and a corporate trainer with software development companies.
This entry was posted in eGovernance, Everyday Life, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Analytics without actions?

  1. A friend says:

    Perhaps a stint at politics would help. I read somewhere that village panchayat members now get the same rank and benefits as a state minister.

    Someone I know kept a lady friend at age 70. To discuss Osho’s philosophy amongst other things. Mainly other things. She was 35.

    I’d suggest you get the media on your side. They’re all children of unwed mothers. However, a perceived benefit to their medium from your analysis will make them bat for you.

    There is another item which may interest you. Why not write a technical book on handling marine equipment and ships in general? Perhaps you have a unique take on it?

    Bring the media to your team Mr. Bhat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

