Moments, simple and beautiful

Two weeks ago,  my daughter, Divya, was driving through the ring road in Bangalore. I was in the back seat with my toddler grandson, Dhruv. Seeing a store selling organic products, Divya wanted to buy a few things. A few meters ahead I found an apartment building under construction. Its compound wall had a breach, yet to get a gate. I advised Divya to park the car there for a few minutes and visit the shop while I would wait near the car with Dhruv.

Sooner Divya parked the car and walked towards the shop, two security guards stormed frowning, questioning why I had parked the car inside the compound. They were right and I was wrong. With humility, I apologised sincerely for the act and offered to take the car out though it would be difficult with mischievous Dhruv in the company. I would be grateful if they allowed the car there for about five minutes.

The security guards instantly softened. Their anger melted away, giving place to courtesy and kindness.  “We understand you position, sir. How will you move the car out with this small child?” They placed a chair under the shade of a tree and  asked me to sit. They would get some drinking water. Then we chatted for five minutes till Divya returned. I thanked my kind hosts and drove away.

Life can be simple and beautiful.

I remembered the Disarming Technique propounded by Dr. David Burns.

About pgbhat

A retired Naval Officer and an educationist. Has experience with software industry. A guest faculty at different institutes and a corporate trainer with software development companies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

